Skip Content
U.S. Flag

Senate Chamber Desks

Overview    |    Seating Plans    |    Desk Occupants    |    The Desks    |    Traditions    |    Timeline

Desk 25 (XXV)

TitleDesk, Senate Chamber, 25 (XXV)
Artist/Makerafter T. Constantine & Co. (1817 - 1826) 
Date19th or early 20th century
MediumMahogany and mahogany veneer (primary)
Dimensions h. 35.37 x  w. 27.81 x  d. 20 in. ( h. 89.85 x  w. 70.64 x  d. 50.8 cm)
Credit LineU.S. Senate Collection
Accession Number66.00025.001

  • Object Description
  • This mahogany writing desk was made specifically for use in the Senate’s legislative chamber in the U.S. Capitol, and is one of 100 desks that are similarly constructed and used daily by senators. It features two shaped and fluted legs, a bookshelf supported by mahogany spindles, a drawer, a hinged writing top with storage, and a removable wooden tray for writing tools. Decorative enhancements, including figured mahogany veneers and circular roundels, reflect the designs of the original 48 desks created for the Senate in 1819 by the New York cabinetmaking firm T. Constantine & Co. Over the years, many senators have inscribed their names in the interior of the desk drawers, making each drawer a unique way of linking current and past desk users. Desk occupants can change every two years with a new Congress, and are based on seniority.

  • Artist/Maker
  • Thomas Constantine (1791–1849) was born in Derbyshire, England, and he and his family immigrated to New York City when he was two. Between 1806 and 1812, Constantine apprenticed with New York City cabinetmaker John Hewitt, and then served as a journeyman in the same shop between 1812 and 1814. Thomas opened his own cabinet shop in 1815, and in 1817 his firm, T. Constantine & Co., began competing with some of the city’s most notable furniture manufacturers.

    Constantine received his most celebrated commissions as Congress prepared to reoccupy the U.S. Capitol after it had been damaged by fires set by British soldiers in August 1814. In 1818, Constantine received a contract to provide the House of Representatives Chamber with carpets, wall hangings, lamps, 192 chairs, and 51 tables. The following year, Constantine was awarded a contract to furnish the Senate Chamber with 48 mahogany armchairs and desks, as well as other furnishings, lighting, and textiles. Constantine’s brother, John (1796–1845) is known to have assisted with the upholstery of the chairs made for both chambers.

    Although scholars consider Constantine’s work for the House and Senate to be the apex of his relatively brief career, T. Constantine & Co. produced furniture into the 1820s. He closed his furniture store in the summer of 1824 and furniture manufactory in 1826. Today furnishings by T. Constantine & Co. are represented in various collections, including the National Park Service, National Museum of American History, North Carolina Museum of History, U.S. House of Representatives, and Winterthur Museum.

    For more information on Thomas Constantine, see Matthew A. Thurlow, “Aesthetics, Politics, and Power in Early-Nineteenth-Century Washington: Thomas Constantine & Co.’s Furniture for the United States Capitol, 1818-1819" in American Furniture (Chipstone Foundation, 2006).

  • Desk Occupants
  • The senators' names listed in this table include both names inscribed in the desk drawer and, beginning with the 99th Congress, the names of all senators who occupied this desk.

    Order Senator State Party
    1PoindexterMiles PoindexterWashingtonR, P, R
    2MosesGeorge H. MosesNew HampshireR Republican
    3EdgeWalter E. EdgeNew JerseyR Republican
    4CapperArthur CapperKansasR Republican
    5KeyesHenry W. KeyesNew HampshireR Republican
    6GoodingFrank R. GoodingIdahoR Republican
    7FessSimeon D. FessOhioR Republican
    8SteiwerFrederick SteiwerOregonR Republican
    9HastingsDaniel O. HastingsDelawareR Republican
    10WhiteWallace H. White, Jr.MaineR Republican
    11BridgesStyles BridgesNew HampshireR Republican
    12HolmanRufus C. HolmanOregonR Republican
    13WillisRaymond E. WillisIndianaR Republican
    14ButlerHugh A. ButlerNebraskaR Republican
    15AikenGeorge D. AikenVermontR Republican
    16MillikinEugene D. MillikinColoradoR Republican
    17YoungMilton R. YoungNorth DakotaR Republican
    18KnowlandWilliam F. KnowlandCaliforniaR Republican
    19WilliamsJohn J. WilliamsDelawareR Republican
    20JennerWilliam E. JennerIndianaR Republican
    21KuchelThomas H. KuchelCaliforniaR Republican
    22HruskaRoman L. HruskaNebraskaR Republican
    23MortonThruston B. MortonKentuckyR Republican
    24MillerJack R. MillerIowaR Republican
    25DominickPeter H. DominickColoradoR Republican
    26GoldwaterBarry M. GoldwaterArizonaR Republican
    27McCainJohn McCainArizonaR Republican
    28GortonSlade GortonWashingtonR Republican
    29JeffordsJames M. JeffordsVermontR, I
    30AshcroftJohn D. AshcroftMissouriR Republican
    31SessionsJeff SessionsAlabamaR Republican
    32VoinovichGeorge V. VoinovichOhioR Republican
    33DeWineMike DeWineOhioR Republican
    34ConradKent ConradNorth DakotaD Democrat
    35HeitkampHeidi HeitkampNorth DakotaD Democrat
    36CardinBenjamin L. CardinMarylandD Democrat
    37HeitkampHeidi HeitkampNorth DakotaD Democrat
    38SinemaKyrsten SinemaArizonaD, I
  • Related Objects